By default, when a contact you send an email to unsubscribes, we place them in the "Do Not Contact" contact stage. However, you can use this email trigger to put them in whichever contact stage you'd like:
If a contact unsubscribes themselves from an email, we will not allow you to contact them through our platform. If you do try you'll see this in the contact's activity feed, and in the email list (Outbox):
If you are in a sequence (in the Contacts section) and you choose to move a contact into the "Do Not Contact" stage we give you the option to also mark them as finished in the sequence and to unsubscribe them from emails:
However, if you unsubscribe a contact in this way, and they themselves have not unsubscribed from your emails themselves, then you can still email these contacts once you move them into another contact stage.
Important note: Similar to excluding self-opens, when we detect that the unsubscriber and email sender have the same network IP address, we will automatically exclude the unsubscribe link in the message. More detail on that here.